Powderhorn District

The Powderhorn District, covering western Oneida County and all of Madison County, is one of four districts in the Leatherstocking Council. The district serves a total of over 700 youth in 45 units.

The administrative functions of the district and its committees are overseen by the volunteer District Chairman, and the unit-service aspects of district operations are managed by the volunteer District Commissioner. The professional District Executive advises the district's top leadership, and serves as a sounding board for concerns. Together, these individuals make up the District Key-3.

District Leadership (Key-3)

Robert Pletl, Jr, District Chairman
Diane Sjodahl, District Commissioner
Matthew Lacy, Senior District Executive

Meeting Schedule

District Committee Meetings take place on the second Monday of the month at 7:00 p.m. at the Madison-Oneida BOCES in the Campus Conference Center. Enter the BOCES complex from Spring Rd and enter the building through entry C2. For a campus map of the BOCES Center, please click here.

District Commissioner Meetings take place on the first Monday of the month at 7:00 p.m. in the same Campus Conference Center.

Drive for Five Campaign

Is your unit on the path to receive free Pinewood Derby cars for the new Scouts you recruit this fall? Take a look at this handy chart below to find out what your number is! The Drive for Five Campaign will reward units with an exceptional recruitment with FREE derby cars for the Scouts they recruit, plus 25% off of one additional order of cars for the rest of the Scouts in the Pack!

To calculate your unit's "number to beat," we took a look at the unit's membership ending 8/31 and 12/31 for each of the last three years (2017, 2016, and 2015). To be recognized in the program, your unit must recruit five more Scouts than that three-year average by 12/31/2018.

Information from our Committees

As we receive information from our subcommittees, items in this list will turn into clickable links for more information. Stay tuned!

  • District Eagle Scout Listing
  • STEM/NOVA Award Information
  • District Membership Committee
  • District Training Committee
  • District Activities Committee
    • District Fall Camporee
    • District Cub Scout Events
    • District Klondike/Gold Nugget Derby
  • District Advancement Committee
    • Chair: George Schmit
  • District Commissioner's Corner

File Name Description
District Minutes 01-2018 Download
District Minutes 02-2018 Download
District Minutes 03-2017 Download
District Minutes 03-2018 Download
District Minutes 04-2017 Download
District Minutes 04-2018 Download
District Minutes 05-2016 Download
District Minutes 05-2018 Download
District Minutes 06-2017 Download
District Minutes 06-2018 Download
District Minutes 07-2016 Download
District Minutes 08-2018 Download
District Minutes 09-2017 Download
District Minutes 09-2018 Download
District Minutes 10-2016 Download
District Minutes 10-2018 Download
District Minutes 11-2017 Download