Please Join The James E. West Endowment Society

Thanks to the forward-thinking individuals who came before us, 43% of the Leatherstocking Council’s annual operating budget is funded by interest income from planned gifts that we have received since 1910.


We realize it is no small thing to trust the safekeeping of one’s legacy to a charity.


Therefore, we are proud to recognize individuals who have included and decide to include the Leatherstocking Council, BSA in their last will and testament. By doing so, you become a James E. West Fellow and as such, you receive a beautiful plaque and your name, or that of a loved one you would like to honor, is permanently added to our James E. West Wall of Honor in the lobby of our Council Headquarters in Utica, NY. The Leatherstocking Council, BSA, provides training and support services to Scouting volunteers and families across Delaware, Hamilton, Herkimer, Lewis, Madison, Oneida, Otsego, and Schoharie counties.


Ways to become a James E. West Fellow:

Name the Leatherstocking Council, BSA as a beneficiary of any one of the following:

  1. An irrevocable planned gift, estate gift, bequest, or trust
  2. A qualified distribution from your Individual Retirement Account (IRA)
  3. A gift of cash or appreciated stock of $1,000 or more (payable over three years for Eagle Scouts and their families)


The James E. West Fellowship Award is a National Endowment recognition for individuals or organizations who contribute $1,000 or more in cash or securities to the Leatherstocking Council Endowment Fund. This contribution is in addition to, and does not diminish or replace, the donor’s annual gift to the Council’s Friends of Scouting Campaign, though some donors will endow their annual gift to FOS. Generally speaking, after a year, the interest income on a permanently restricted gift to our endowment will generate approximately $50.00 for our annual FOS campaign.

A James E. West Fellowship Award may be given by a group of Scouters or individual Scouter to honor a fellow Scouter, as a memorial on the death of a Scouter, or to recognize a special achievement like a new Eagle Scout.

The award is named after the first Chief Scout Executive of the Boy Scouts of America who exemplified Ralph Waldo Emerson’s observation that “an institution is the lengthened shadow of one man.” Scouting today is the “lengthened shadow” of more than three decades of the far-seeing and dedicated leadership of Dr. James E. West.

Those who are recognized by the James E. West Fellowship Award will cast their own “lengthened shadow” as they help ensure the Scouting legacy for future generations of young people and create the financial stability of the program in the twenty-first century for the Leatherstocking Council.


On behalf of all the Scouting families who benefit from the programs you support with this meaningful gift, thank you for your consideration.

Please consult your financial advisor, but if you do not have one and would like to speak with one of the volunteers on our endowment committee, please contact or call Jim on his mobile number: (315)263-5326.

Thank you!


Download a James E. West Fellowship Application 


List of James E. West Fellows, those who have kindly contributed to The Leatherstocking Council, BSA Endowment Campaign to keep local Scouting alive and well.




Robert Carpenter 2023
William K Davis 2023
Steven Schaeffer 2022
Jean Couse 2021
Julie Berntson 2020
Ross Berntson 2020
Nathaniel Berntson 2020
Christopher G. Obernesser 2020
Paul Beames 2019
The Benson Insurance Agency 2019
John S.  Edwards 2019
Jean M. Hastie 2019
Dave Manore 2019
The Don Marsh Agency   2019
Joyce W. Midlam 2019
Michelle Nolan 2019
Jerry Schillo 2019
Michael & Holly  Schaul 2019
Richard & Delores Schaul 2019
Schaul Roofing   2019
Table Rock Fitness   2019
David Tobin 2019
Christopher Obernesser 2019
Kirk Evans 2018
Carol Bedell  2017
Evelyn P. Devlin 2017
John Devlin 2017
Scott L.  Brady  2010
William Doyna 2010
Ronald Phelps 2010
Rodney St. Clair 2010
Dr. Frank J. Dubeck, Jr. & Dr. Marybeth K. McCall 2008
Wester Miga 2008
Carleton R. Myers  2008
Richard A. Rotondi 2008
William J. Rudge, III 2008
James H. Davidson 2007
Kevin B. Hawks  2007
June Sturges 2007
Robert   Baldwin 2006
Robert G.   Barnes, Sr. 2006
Raymond L. Eschenbach  2006
Christopher S.  Hopkins  2006
Charles H. "Nick" Ide 2006
Christopher M.  Meacham  2006
Benjamin T.  Obernesser  2006
Arnold H.  Lanckton  2005
William J.  McEachern  2005
Eric J. Myers 2005
Paul Obernesser 2005
Dean  McGowan  2004
Mary Jane McGowan  2004
Alan R.  Woodruff  2004
Thomas J.  Davis  2003
Thomas J.  Denslow  2003
Philip R.  Hall  2003
Carol Hawks 2003
Kenneth Hawks 2003
Robert  Hill  2003
Francis X. Matt, IV 2003
William Morgan 2003
John C.  Morgenstern  2003
Craig Robert Myers 2003
W. Frederick Stevens 2003
William & Alice Ackerson  2002
Timothy E.  Coveny  2002
Mark  Dollard  2002
Lawrence English 2002
William L.  Koslosky  2002
Ralph T. Miller, III 2002
Ralph Howard Clayton Miller, IV 2002
Robert & Merrie Pierce  2002
Roy E.  Quackenbush  2002
Paul J. Rindenello  2002
Gregory P.  Rindenello  2002
Edward W.  Roelle  2002
James "Butch" Roelle Roelle  2002
Jackie & Dennis Slater  2002
Henry G.   Allen 2001
Janet Bullock  2001
Charles J.  Burton  2001
Jerome  Dawes  2001
Richard C.  Doyle  2001
Harry  Draker  2001
Arthur R.  Garlington  2001
Robert Gilchriest 2001
Patricia A. Grogan  2001
John C.  Harvey  2001
Robert E.  Herrmann  2001
Francis Kerwin 2001
Charlotte Kerwin 2001
John W.  McMonagle  2001
S. Robert McRorie  2001
Gary L.  Moreau  2001
Albert W.  Richards  2001
Rev. Ray  Roberts  2001
Donald L.  Tuttle  2001
Dale P.  Williams  2001
Latrell Williams  2001
Janice R.  Duncombe  2000
Henry J.  Nicols  2000
Alfred J.  Poole, III 2000
William E.  Stone Sr. 1998
Wallace H.   Watkins 1997
Raynor  B. Duncombe 1995
William R.  Schaffer  1995
Dr. Joeseph  Vidosic  1995
Neely   Vincent 1995
Marion  Butts  1994
Claire  Kepner  1994
Theodore E.  Russell  1994